Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys i have a question i just bought me a1990 islander and it didn't have the 4x4 hooked up l it the guy told me I just needed to run a vacuum hose to the actuator that's by the passenger side is that it or is there more I'm very brand new to jeeps and working on cars i own a 1990 4.2l v6

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
there is more to it than just 1 vacuum hose..there are several write ups and diagrams on here for the vacuum hoses,switches,etc.....just so you know,your 4.2 is not a v6

·
Registered
958 Posts
Yeah. There are 4 vac lines that all need to be hooked up. Check the rubber plug at the transfer case actuator. Should see 4 diff colored plastic lines. Believe it's a red one that goes to the fork up front. But honestly you're better off just putting in a posi lock and getting rid of the crappy vac system.

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
that may in fact be the best fix. I buy a lot of yj's that the 4x4 is not operating.I always just repair them.the biggest problem that I find is a bad vacuum switch on the transfer case but sometimes it is a leaking hose or the hoses connected wrong.Once I repair them I have had good luck with the stock system and it is almost always a lot cheaper for me to repair than to swap it over to posi lock

·
Registered
925 Posts
that may in fact be the best fix. I buy a lot of yj's that the 4x4 is not operating.I always just repair them.the biggest problem that I find is a bad vacuum switch on the transfer case but sometimes it is a leaking hose or the hoses connected wrong.Once I repair them I have had good luck with the stock system and it is almost always a lot cheaper for me to repair than to swap it over to posi lock