Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have a two month old boy who just got out of the hospital. He is doing pretty well now. My question is at what point can I start taking him off-road in a car seat? Nothing hard core just fairly easy trails with the local jeep club.

·
Registered
282 Posts
I'm no doctor but I know I held off taking my son off-road until he had control over his neck muscles. That and I didn't want his head banging around the car seat while I'm on the trails. I'm sure others will chime but my motto is better safe than sorry. Or ask a pediatrician if you're unsure.

·
Registered
6,299 Posts
Eh. Hard to say. At that age they really cant support their own head. If you have a carseat that supports the head in an upright position he should be fine, but I wouldnt chance it.

·
Registered
2,110 Posts
4 -6 months and make sure its a reversible car seat and make sure its in the middle position on the back bench.

·
Registered
current: 07 JKUR previous: totaled 93 yj after new engine and tranny perfect timing!
162 Posts
Eww.. I can smell the rotting baby formula smell from here :( ...... I wouldn't take mine until they can work their own seat belt at least lol or maybe when their off the bottle. Twin 8 year old boys and a 12yr old girl is plenty just trying to go fishing lol... I personally would never take an infant on a trail

·
Registered
29 Posts
We had our 3 month old on some rough dirt roads. We had additional head support for him and my wife sat in the back and watched him. Use common sense and do what works for your family. For me, that meant going slow, picking easy routes and spending less time out than we were used to. I have found that my son really enjoys spending time outside, even if it is just on my lap in a camp chair by a creek. So my advice is be careful and get him out there.

·