Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes i'm new here, and to Jeeps, and to offroading, and to automotive work in general... So if I say anything stupid, forgive me! :9lame:

Just got a 04 Sahara and the dealership guy said it had a 5 inch fabtech longarm lift. How can I confirm this? I know it is fabtech because it says it on the front shocks. And it has 35 inch mickey thompson baja mtz on it, if that helps.

Wandering because I want to purchase new shocks and I have learned that lift determines what shocks to buy. If it is indeed a 5 inch longarm, what are the best on/offroad shocks? .. for the money!

And what would you guys recommend doing to it? I'm talking basic care!?! Tune up? Oil change? lube everyhting up?(It is a little squeeky) Check the brakes? Remember i'm new to all of this so go easy on me!... please

Oh and i'm Rob, HOWDY

·
Retired Moderator
28,211 Posts
go ahead and post up a pic of it, we can help you better if we can see it(and we just like pics on this forum)

also you can measure the height of the bumper off the ground, and compare that to stock height.

just fyi, just cause it says fabtech on the shocks doesnt mean thats who its from.

·
Retired Moderator
28,211 Posts
i just popped over to the fabtech website. if it is from them, it would have to be a 6 inch kit. also all the lift hardware is going to be blue

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Can't post a pic right now but I will tomorrow!

Nothing is blue, all black, and white shocks! There is also boddy armor (not sure if thats the right term?)under the middle that says fabtech. I saw the blue kit too, and thought maybe it is the new kits that are blue and the lift may be a few years old... I dont know?!

·
Registered
759 Posts