Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
491 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
For ages Wrangler owners have been plagued with leaky tops. Mine in particular is only a year old (2015 JK) and recently noticed the driver side carpet would be soaked after a hard rain.

I was able to successfully fix this issue and wanted to share on here and hopefully will help many others’ water leaks. By all means, I’m no expert at this so if there’s any misinformation please let me know and I’ll correct it.

This is not a “one size fits all” guide. I am pointing out one particular scenario that I feel is quite common - and that is the leaky A-pillar at the roof. For mine, the trouble area happens to be at the top windshield corner (and not the door). I have seen others suggest to have the door realigned and can help if that is your trouble area.

I’ll describe step-by-step to my approach and fix.

The first thing that gave it away was the wet floor mat after a hard rain.

Well that’s crappy… checked under the mats and carpet is SOAKED. So remove the two rubber floor plugs to let the water drain and try to get as much moisture out with towels. Take the floor mat out let it air dry for a couple of days (or remove the carpet altogether for quicker dry time).

Next sign that it was coming from the A-pillar was a bead of water along the crevasse where the dash meets the pillar.

After removing the corner plastic panel I noticed water droplets coming from in between the rubber and the frame. That’s the first biggest giveaway that the trouble area was not door-related, but more on the windshield side.

So I removed the front hard top on the leaky side to inspect the rubber channel along the top of the windshield frame. Toward the corner, I lifted it up to see underneath… and it looked like there wasn’t a whole lot of butyl applied in that area from the factory, and also looked unevenly applied.