Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just like the title says, I am curious as to what I should be looking for in a winch. Synthetic line or steel, poundage, size, brand etc. I am also interested in what people carry when they wheel as far as recovery equipment and supplies (extra fuel, water, tools etc.) I want to put together decent gear before I start sinking money into a lift and tires.

Not just opinions please. I am new to off road anything and I want to be educated about a potential purchase. I am planning my build out over a few years so I can make sure I only have to buy once. I see people rushing to put on lifts and bigger tires, but have zero if any recovery equipment to use if they ever wheel their Jeep.

I have already ordered a new bumper and tire carrier and I want to have enough recovery equipment to be self sufficient and help friends who would go with me. So any input you all can offer will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
5,020 Posts
There are several threads on the steel vs synthetic. There are several more on trail bag contents. They have a lot of details in them.

·
Registered
2,048 Posts
Choose the 8,000+ pound Warn winch that fits in your budget. Keep in mind you will be using this winch as a last resort after the $10,000 in other mods you installed failed to get you through an obstacle. Don't be cheap.

I run a Warn VR8000, which is adequate for moderate trails including the rubicon. I would consider one of their higher end winch offerings if I was traversing more difficult trails.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
There are several threads on the steel vs synthetic. There are several more on trail bag contents. They have a lot of details in them.
Thank you. I didn't even know it was called a "trail bag". :)