Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to older jeeps...or just older cars in general.I have a 1990 yj and im not sure if there is the right way to put it into 4wd...do I have to be parked? Driving? Idk! Also is it bad to drive on the highway or for a long time on 4wd?

·
Registered
138 Posts
you can shift into 4 hi @ low speeds and 4 lo you should be stopped or a crawl. you don't want to be in FWD on a hard surface or stuff can tear up. ice or snow would be ok, don't have to worry about that here.

·
Registered
553 Posts
if its the np231 transfer case, you can shift into 4hi while moving, just let off the gas to expedite the shift. To get into 4Lo, make sure you go into neutral on the t case first as well as neutral on your transmission. its also better to be stopped to go into 4Lo because sometimes it can take a harder pull to get into 4Lo

·
Show Me Your 8008135!
3,690 Posts
I was told it's best to throw it in 4wd with the rear tires spinning and then go onto dry pavement and repeatedly do tight u-turns, is this true? ;)