Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am new to jeeps and this is my first post. I used to be a mustang guy so I'm big on performance. I bought this 4.0 L Wrangler just a couple weeks ago and I'm now happy to say I'm an addict. Right now I'm looking at both Superchips or Hypertech power tuners. I'm actually in it more for the mileage than the horsepower and torque, although those are nice perks. Which one is better. I would like some actual experiences from someone who has had or currently has one installed. I've researched both and I cant find a whole lot of bad stuff on Hypertech. I've read that superchips has somewhat of a slow processor and is made cheaply. I like that Hypertech has an option for real time engine monitoring. If someone could give me some real world insight I would really appreciate it. Thanks a ton!

·
Registered
892 Posts
potato chips, yummm.
dont waste your money, you wont see or feel any gain in terms of power or economy. just do a proper tune up.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did a tune up as soon as I bought the car. I bought the parts...in the jeep...before I got it to my house for the first time...and had the tune up done before I had to go out with the gf that night haha! Do you have one of the tuners? I'd like to hear about your experience with it if you dont think that its worth it. I have read some articles, even on here, that say it is a significant difference in shifting, economy and some power. I had a tunable chip in the mustang and with a dyno tune on it, it made me about 15 horsepower 12 tq rear wheel so I'm not ready to just write the tuner off as junk just yet.

·
Registered
4,109 Posts