Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
491 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will be using this thread to document my custom relay/fuse box for my accessories. I've seen many people make them for their Wranglers so it has inspired me to do a write-up. I've never done this before so it's a learning process, although I do have quite a bit of electronics knowledge from prior hobbies.

So far I have purchased some components but still need to get a few connectors and switches and build a container. I drew up a schematic of the plans, which I hope can help others understand the wiring.

Cheers!

Attachments

·
Registered
491 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
I'm glad this project is catching on! I have gathered some more supplies.

I wish I can edit the my first post so that all of the information is in the one place. But looks like I'll just have to post as I go and it shouldn't be too hard to track on this thread.

As I mentioned, this is my first time building a relay/fuse box so there was a bit of a learning curve. I wanted to post my found resources on top of the progress photos just in case it could help anyone new to electrical work, but wanting to build their own.

NOTE: I would suggest you do additional research to fill in any gaps that I might not cover here. But feel free to ask me any questions and I'll do my best to answer them.

Some basics:

How an automotive relay works

Determining fuse size

Determining wire gauge

My build:
Planning and more planning is key to a successful relay box. I purchased components that are rated at 30-40amps, so I will only add accessories within that capacity. I plan to install horns, lights, fans, etc. Not larger things like winches or air compressors, etc. since they'll need their own heavier duty relays, wires, and connectors.