Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! A little history of me; I'm a 30 year old firefighter/EMT from Charleston, SC. My last Jeep was a 97' TJ that I didn't realize how much I liked until after I sold it. Soo... After a few years of being jeepless I decided to purchase another one and could use some of yalls experience/knowlwdge with him.
My new baby is a 74' CJ5 with the 258 I6, 4 speed. For the most part its solid but there is some rust in floor pans and the front drivers side fender. Frame looks good (for being 40+) and motor seems to be good. It did have a fouled #5 plug that the previous owner told me about that was black and dry when I removed it. (I just picked up a whole set for it to replace the rest). My main thing I guess I wanna do first, and I guess my first question, is the brakes. It has the drums all the way around and I'd like to switch to disc in the front. So first question, cheap easy way to do that? I found conversion kits and thought about finding an old axle that has discs and just swapping them. 2nd thing would probably be power steering. Didn't some CJ's come with power steering? 3rd is dash. Most of the gauges work its just crummy looking. I guess I'll start with these and see what kind of input I get then go from there. Thanks in advanced! So glad to finally be back in a jeep!
P.S. I'll take pictures as soon as phone charges!

·
Registered
483 Posts