Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys, I know the rules lol. Search first and use what you find. I've searched here, razr forums, saw diagrams, and Google is tired of me already... I need an honest, straight forward, do this not that answer. I am purchasing a 50" eyourlife bar and two 18 watt spots. The install will be focused on the windshield real estate. Would've Already done it but I just had to research everything and mess up my head. I have plenty of experience with wiring stuff like crazy (before I went career, I was a volunteer ff and my truck put dps to shame) so I know how to wire. My problem is I would always wire my lights just using a switch and inline fuse. Clean it all up and make it look good and that's it, jobs done. But NOW ppl are talking about relays and other stuff so I did some research. I don't want to buy a pre-made harness cuz I like doing things myself as a hobby. So guide me pleassse. I want two different switches. Do I need a relay for both light groups or just the light bar? If I use a relay, do I still need 20 amp switches? Should I use terminal blocks and power distributors and fuse blocks(and blah blah blah) in case I want to add more later? Do I even need relays? Do the switches need to he connected with big wires (14+) or little wires (20)? OOOORRRR am I just overthinking the crap out of this project.... I stayed up till 3 am last night just looking at different stuff that I THINK I will NEED. Please put my worries to rest lol.

·
Registered
898 Posts
If you were up until 3 a.m. researching this online then you very well may be overthinking it.

YES, you need relays!

Quality lighting products will ship with the harness and instructions.