Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody, I just recently purchased an '01 sport that is 99% stock(wheels and tires are aftermarket) and I went to my mudding spot with it, however when I got there it was way too rutted for the jeep to handle. Anything over just basically crawling through made it feel like the jeep was gonna start to flip. Now of course I'm brand new to jeeps, my past vehicles were all 1/2 ton trucks so they were much bigger and absorbed all the bumps much easier.

What are some easy methods to improve the offroad stability of my jeep?

Right now its stock height with 265/70/16 tires, and my original thought was to go with wider tires and wider wheels with a more negative offset that way the track width would increase, along with adding new shocks all around to better control the uneven terrain.

I really do not want to lift the jeep at all, however I would do it if it meant the difference between a 31x10.5 tire and a 32x12.5 or 13.5 tire

·
Registered
752 Posts
Disconnect the front sway bar OFF ROAD ONLY. The ride will be way better and improve your off road capability. Reconnect before you go back on public roads otherwise it's dangerous.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
Give it a little time before you do anything. You are sitting high in the jeep but the jeeps actual center of gravity is pretty low. I have had my stocker leaned over pretty far and it was fine. I have seen some leaned over way farther than I would ever be comfortable with and still keep all 4 tires on the ground. Like suggested, disconnect the sway bar and it will soften the ride a lot.

·
Premium Member
7,920 Posts