Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would this trailer hitch be able to safely pull a bike rack that would hold four or so bikes?

Quadratec Premium 2" Receiver Hitch with Wiring Kit & Jeep® Logo Plug for 07-14 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK - Quadratec

Also, I have ZERO experience with any installation stuff. I am a little nervous about taking off the bumper and making sure that it would be installed it correctly. I also do not know how difficult obtaining the tools for the job would be.

I am debating on just taking it to a U-Haul place to be installed... Would prefer to spend as little money as possible though!

Thoughts?

·
Registered
392 Posts
As long as you don't exceed 350lbs, your fine. As for the install, there was no need to remove the bumper or anything on my 11' when I installed mine. Just install the four bolts and done. To hook up the harness, you just remove two phillips screws on the drivers side tail light and plug it in. Real easy to do.

·
Registered
3,159 Posts
This is an easy install. Try to get an OEM hitch if you can- a takeoff for another Wrangler. Many of the aftermarket one fit loosely and you have to tight the heck out of the bolts and bend the plates getting the bolts snug. With the original Jeep one (I bought mine for $50off Craigslist) it is snug enough to where (both times) I had to tap hard with a rubber mallet to get the holes line up. That is how it should be.

EDIT- If the plates have a gap, use metal washers.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I put this exact hitch kit on mine, and I bought a 4 bike rack for it, so I also hope it will work.