Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently have a 2016 Freedom Edition JKU with the dreaded 3.21 gears. I have a TeraFlex leveling kit with Toyo Open Country R/T - XD Monster II tire and wheel package.

I am a daily driver, but going to wheel for the first time in July and will most likely wheel from time to time.

I am thinking of getting an AEV 2.5 lift...
Also thought of stepping up to 35's

Thoughts - concerns? My 3.21 gears going to be a major problem?

Just looking for feedback.

Thanks,
Jeff

·
Super Moderator
8,238 Posts
You will definitely want to regear.

·
Super Moderator
10,628 Posts
My first Wrangler was a 2008 Sahara with 3.21 gears, 6-speed manual and stock 32" tires: 6th gear was rendered pretty much useless on anything but absolutely flat freeway cruising. I had to downshift at the slightest hint of an incline, or to pass.

I can only imagine what an automatic must feel like with 3.21 and 35" tires.

I'd re-gear.

·
Registered
159 Posts
This is a very subjective matter, and not dreaded at all. If you're mainly using the Jeep as a daily driver with occasional off-roading (2-3 times/year and no rock climbing) you'll be just fine. You may feel a little heavier on the initial acceleration, but that's about it as a daily driver.

I have that same setup you're planning on and personally have no issues. It's my DD and I do a couple off-roading trips - mainly green with some blue trails mixed in - a year which is more than enough for me.