Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new with wranglers here but im looking on buying one. However, wranglers are rare where I live. The best one that I've seen is a 1989 Jeep Wrangler Sahara edition. It's a 6 cylinder with the 4.2 engine, and it's standard. The wrangler is lifted, and has 32" tires. The current owner replaced several components and put in a performance carburator, performance distribuitor, performance spark plugs and performance spark plug wires. He also put a new cd player and speakers (no subwoofer). the wrangler has no rust, only a bit of surface rust in the hinges that go from the hood to the windshield frame, a tiny spot next to the winshield, and a bit more surface rust under the rear window. The only problems the car has is the oil pan is leaking. He said the mechanic told him it would cost him 40 bucks to fix it. One of the blinker lights is not working, believe is just a wire problem. And the disc brakes are probably scratched. Also, 3 of the tires a a bit worn out and may need replacing soon, but not necesarily right away. He is asking 4000 dollars firm. Is this price about right or might it be too expensive. Oh, milage is 171, 000. Engine sounds great and seems to have no problems whatsoever. Imput GREATLY appreciated cus Im in despperate need of a car. Thank you.

·
Registered
933 Posts
where are you located ?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
South Texas. Unfortunately for me, hispanic community doesn't believe in wranglers here. ;-) So they do seem to be rare, at least in this part of texas

·
Registered
8,162 Posts
sounds hi to me, you can find a wrangler w/ 4.0 engine for that price and would be much better off, fewer problems. and the little spots of surface rust are probably worse in some areas you can see, look under carpet, behind the rocker panels, rear of frame.

·
Registered
339 Posts