Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK ...yes I'm new to all this so be nice..lol…..but I have an 02 TJ with a 2.5 and 31 in tires.....So I am not going to do any extreme off roading but I would like to put a mild 1.25 coil lift on it. Will it be necessary to change out my brand new shocks and any other parts??….I don't want to go much higher cause I'm old and tired and don't wanna climb up into it..lol lol..thanks

·
Registered
623 Posts
I did a small suspension lift like that - it's great, but I then wanted a pair of adjustable control arms to dial in the rear pinion angle, to eliminate the extra driveline noise immediately after the lift

·
Registered
2,877 Posts
OK ...yes I'm new to all this so be nice..lol…..but I have an 02 TJ with a 2.5 and 31 in tires.....So I am not going to do any extreme off roading but I would like to put a mild 1.25 coil lift on it. Will it be necessary to change out my brand new shocks and any other parts??….I don't want to go much higher cause I'm old and tired and don't wanna climb up into it..lol lol..thanks
Get a 1.25" body lift (under $100) and be done with it. Takes an hour or so to install and nothing else is needed. Pic of my Jeep with 31s and a BL.

Attachments

·
Registered
623 Posts
1.25 inches threw the rear end out that bad???

Yeah, these were upgraded springs, not spacers added to sagging factory springs, so it's really 1.25" above factory

I think H&R springs provide slightly less lift, so that would be the way to go if you want a spring upgrade without changing anything else - the body lift is still a great idea to fit larger tires

·
Registered
30 Posts
Excuse my ignorance in this area, but how do I know how much lift I have and if it is spring, body, control arm, etc.? I bought my '05 LJ used 2 weeks ago from a dealership and they had no details on it. I previously owned an '06 LJ but knew when I bought it that it had a Rancho lift (2.5 if I recall).