Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, so I'm taking on a challenge with my jeep and pretty much doing everything to it. Right now she has a hard time pushing past 100 kph, so I've decided to do something about the engine. It's a 4.3 liter inline 6.

I was thinking about doing an engine swap but starting reading and found a lot of people don't suggest it because the inline 6 has a huge durability and is long lasting and still has good power.

So I was thinking about doing a rebuild. However I'm a huge noob to mechanic work but want to do it. So if there on any suggestions on how to know what parts should be replaced and where to buy good parts or kits would be really appreciated. Also, any suggestions on upgrades would be really appreciated. Thanks in advanced.

·
Registered
316 Posts
Maybe we should talk about why you think you need a rebuild first. Could be that you are having other (simple to fix?) problems that are causing you to not have much power. What size tires do you have on your Jeep now ? Does your Jeep have a carb or is it fuel injected ? Do you have a stock ignition system ?
I'm just trying to say that there are a lot of things that could cause a power loss and you not need a full rebuild.

·
Registered
316 Posts
my dumb a$$ just read the title again. So your Jeep is fuel injected. At least the rules out carb problems LOL.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·