Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,605 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 1989 yj with a 4.2l engine, ax-15 tranny, and np231j t-case that I have been putting 10w-30 full synthetic in for the last 5-6 years. My friend told me that it is bad to put motor oil in my transmission and t-case, is this true? Any one else care to share what fluids you use in your rig.

·
Registered
332 Posts
So I have a 1989 yj with a 4.2l engine, ax-15 tranny, and np231j t-case that I have been putting 10w-30 full synthetic in for the last 5-6 years. My friend told me that it is bad to put motor oil in my transmission and t-case, is this true? Any one else care to share what fluids you use in your rig.
Transfer Case takes ATF.

Transmission - 80w/90 gear oil (GL3)

Engine should use a oil with zinc.....DELO or Rotella in a 30, 40 or 15w/40 depending on temperature. The zinc is very important for your flat tappet cam in the 258.

These are factory fluids and I'm a firm believer in not trying to outsmart the engineers who designed the Jeep.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Transfer: ATF +4
AX15: Red Line MT90
Engine: Royal Purple 5W 30

·
Registered
124 Posts
Let me clarify... I'm in the NorthEast. 5w 30 in the winter. 10w 30 normally.

I'm sure that 10w 30 would be fine all year.

·
Registered
2,605 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I used atf +4 for a while in my t-case but didn't like how bad it worked, and same with the 75w-90 fluid in the tranny. The tranny fluid just didn't do good where I live because of temperature (Southern California kept my tranny VERY hot)/ destroyed syncros, but the 10w-30 keeps my tranny cool and made shifting smoother. And the atf +4 kept eating up my output shaft seals on my t-case.

·
Registered
8,968 Posts