Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
97 tj 4.0

Here are the symptoms

:Takes 5 seconds of turning to get it to fire.
:If I push it hard in 1st and 2nd it starts to die
:If before I start it and turn the key to on them off then on then off it will start right up

I suspect its not keeping fuel pressure. I have no experience with jeeps so any input would help.
Maybe fuel pump is crapping out? I just want to be sure before I start to fix it.

I am capable of doing this kind of work. Just never tried it on a jeep.

·
Registered
3,196 Posts
What you are describing is a problem with what I blieve is called the fuel anti-drainback valve. This is supposed to keep the pressure in the fuel system when the pump is off. You engine starts if you let the key sit for a few seconds because the pump turns on and resupplies the pressure to the engine. This is located on the top of the tank if I remember correctly, so you need to drop the tank to replace.

·
Registered
4,299 Posts
What you are describing is a problem with what I blieve is called the fuel anti-drainback valve.
The fuel pump check valves rarely cause a problem. Leaking fuel pressure regulators are usually the cause of the hard start condition.

Solution: replace the fuel pressure regulator.

·
Registered
268 Posts
yea mine does the same thing.. if i dont prime it 3-4 times before start it takes forever to start, and sputters a bit once i start moving, the FPR is on my to do list that never seems to end on my jeep

·
Registered
732 Posts
where is the Fuel Pressure Regulator on a 97 2.5 TJ and is it hard to change

·
Knows a couple things...
49,621 Posts