Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the jeep family, so I have a question about the 4 wheel dr. We bought a 2011 Jeep wrangler last July for my wife to use on a mail route.

This weekend I put it in four wheel drive high it drives fine going straight but on a parking lot doing figure 8's it wont hardly turn, is this normal? I would think that it should do the figure 8' with no problem.

·
Premium Member
4,954 Posts
Not made for dry pavement.

·
Premium Member
4,392 Posts
tcspeer said:
I am new to the jeep family, so I have a question about the 4 wheel dr. We bought a 2011 Jeep wrangler last July for my wife to use on a mail route.

This weekend I put it in four wheel drive high it drives fine going straight but on a parking lot doing figure 8's it wont hardly turn, is this normal? I would think that it should do the figure 8' with no problem.
Yeah it's not like a normal SUV where you can drive on dry pavement in 4x4. If you do, eventually you will break the front U-joints. Only use it in snow and loose surfaces like dirt sand rocks

·
Premium Member
12,478 Posts

You can tear it up driving on dry pavement in 4H, much less doing figure 8's in a parking lot. 4wd is for mud, sand, snow, etc...when the wheels cannot get good traction. :thumb:

·
Administrator
41,902 Posts
That's normal.
There are guys with more technical expertise than me that I am sure can explain it better. Your Jeep is used to steering with no power to the front wheels, when you engage the drive it doesn't like to make sharp turns at speed.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks for such a quick reply, We are used to a Subaru all wheel drive and it is smooth even in the figure 8 turns.

Couple of more questions brake jobs are very common on vehicles used on mail routes. On our Subaru the front pistons on the calipers just pushed back in with a C- clamp is this the same for the jeep are do they screw back in?