Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently posted about my parents needing convincing for me to get a jeep wrangler, but now I have another problem.... Insurance.

As a teen, will insurance for a Jeep Wrangler be more then a standard car?
I'm a good student with a 4.7 gpa.
I also took drivers Ed.

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
Many factors come into play here: are you insuring or simply adding the jeep to your parents policy. If the later much cheaper. How old are you and have you had your license more than a year, if a year or more again cheaper. Male or Female, female cheaper. Any prior tickets or accidents? They hurt you here. Finally will you be listed as the primary driver or will a parent be LISTED as the primary jeep driver . If a parent this also brings rate down. Older the jeep lower the insurance cost. Any mods drive up the cost if you tell them. They want to know about all mods but really just care about mods that change the risk factor ex: lift kit increases rollover odds in their eyes

I added my son to our policy and our rate went up about $1700, I subsequently bought and insured a 2001 Wrangler, with myself listed as primary. My son is listed as primary on an 2011 Tahoe, jeep purchase added about $200 total

Hope this helps and good luck

Kris

·
Registered
2,631 Posts