Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2010 JK with input speed sensor problem; error code P0716 along with incorrect gear ration codes. Goes in and out of limp mode until finally shifts into 2nd gear and remains there. I've replaced the input speed sensor several times and it immediately corrects the problem for some unknown duration of time and miles; should've kept detailed record! I learned there was a programming update in 2010, JK purchased 10/2009. Could this be the problem? Don't know if was ever updated? Lived 240 miles from nearest dealer so always did my own everything! No longer there but still do my own work; very skeptical of experience and training of everyone!

So, question is, why does replacing the sensor correct the problem and then it comes back? I'm a retired electronic engineer and this makes no sense unless it is programming and dealer wants $125 just to look at it. The sensor just sends a pulse signal to the PCM and if was something mechanical in the tranny, replacement shouldn't cause any change??? I've ordered another sensor but would really like it to be the last!

·
Registered
2,538 Posts
2010 JK with input speed sensor problem; error code P0716 along with incorrect gear ration codes. Goes in and out of limp mode until finally shifts into 2nd gear and remains there. I've replaced the input speed sensor several times and it immediately corrects the problem for some unknown duration of time and miles; should've kept detailed record! I learned there was a programming update in 2010, JK purchased 10/2009. Could this be the problem? Don't know if was ever updated? Lived 240 miles from nearest dealer so always did my own everything! No longer there but still do my own work; very skeptical of experience and training of everyone!