Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Background: I am new to Jeeps in general and WranglerForum as well. I am also fortunate enough to have a nice shop at my home where I can easily work, I also have many of the tools necessary to do everything on our JK or my other toys. However, since this is our first jeep and I know a lot of people don't have the luxury of having a shop or expensive tools to work with, I decided to do a quick how-to on shock replacement for anyone that may feel discouraged from changing their own shocks on the JK. I doubt this doesn't apply to TJ or YJs, but I have only ever crawled under a JK, so here you go.

I purchased a 2016 JKU, mostly for my wife as she has always wanted one in April 2016. A few months after purchasing it (and 5000 miles later) I had a Fabtech 3" lift installed and 33s. This is mostly a kid hauler and we do use it around my farm/riding the miles of dirt roads around our home with the kids. A few weeks ago I noticed I had a busted seal on the passenger rear shock. Having fabtechs 5/60 warranty, I figured I would just drop it off and have it changed out. The shop stated they knew fabtech's batch of shocks had issues with the seal, so they were going to change all 4 shocks to the newer style (great for me, only 12k miles on these shocks). I scheduled a time and had to drop off at the last minute due to a work conflict. Long story short, they never got around to it. I picked up the jeep and the replacement shocks to do it myself.

Below is a how-to with a lot of pictures for anyone that can find it useful for taking care of something this easy at home or in your apartment parking lot. Note, NO JACK was used in this pictures, tires were left on (as you will see in the pictures). This is for Fabtech Stealth shocks, so part numbers will differ based on your manufacturer of choice.