Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, finally got the discos in the mail so im getting ready to put them on, probably this weekend. I read the instructions, seems pretty simple excepy for the greasing part... Ive never messed with mechanical parts so im confused on what and why i grease up. I dont have a grease gun, dont even know what it is. When i instal them do i just grease the bolts and pull pins? Do i need to do it right when i put them on or can it wait until i find a place by me that sells it? Thanks for any help, im still new to this and i want to learn how to work on my own jeep, not some mechanic guy, it gives me more pride in my Jeep.

·
Registered
736 Posts
pick up a grease gun at home depot/lowes or any similar store. Not greasing them up will cause some un necessary wear. Good project to start with.. and you'll love the time saved before the trail.

·
Registered
26,921 Posts
Hey guys, finally got the discos in the mail so im getting ready to put them on, probably this weekend. I read the instructions, seems pretty simple excepy for the greasing part... Ive never messed with mechanical parts so im confused on what and why i grease up. I dont have a grease gun, dont even know what it is. When i instal them do i just grease the bolts and pull pins? Do i need to do it right when i put them on or can it wait until i find a place by me that sells it? Thanks for any help, im still new to this and i want to learn how to work on my own jeep, not some mechanic guy, it gives me more pride in my Jeep.
Grease provides a layer of lubricant between metal parts much like the oil in your engine. Except the grease is very thick to help it stay in place.
Invest in a grease gun at an autoparts store, Walmart, etc. I look for a grease that contains molybdenum (moly). Makes the grease extra slippery.

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter #4