Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! My name is Jose, I’m new to off-roading and the jeep life. I had a question in regards to a certain style locker. I’m going to regear my Jeep next month, already set up an appointment. Going for 4.88 gears on my 18’ JKU on 35’s. Would you guys recommend using a Spartan Locker on the rear end until I can save up to buy an E-locker. Thanks in advance!

·
RETIRED MODERATOR
73,004 Posts

·
Premium Member
288 Posts
Do it once cry once take it from me I regeared and put a locker in the rear and then two years later put a locker in the front because I couldn’t afford it but I really wish I did it but the same time.
The labor is the big part.

·
Registered
675 Posts
You will save yourself A LOT of money by waiting and doing it all at once.

·
Registered
6,854 Posts
Welcome from Arizona.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Buy once cry once. Best advice I know regarding Jeep parts. I'd go for an ARB air locker. Expensive, but at least you'll never look back and say, "I should have just paid the first time."

·
Registered
6,004 Posts
Buy once cry once. Best advice I know regarding Jeep parts. I'd go for an ARB air locker. Expensive, but at least you'll never look back and say, "I should have just paid the first time."
Ahhh yes, the age-old e vs air debate.

Each system has their own set of pros/cons so I am not sure I would call one better than the other.
Plenty of people have looked back on arb's when they rip the copper tube on the inside of the diff, or after they have to deal with compressor freeze-ups in Winter, just as plenty have looked back on e locks when they burn up the electro magnet, or have to go an extra 1/2 revolution to engage them.