Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi; Noob here...Just got my first Jeep, a 18 JLU Sport S in Sting Gray!

Been reading reading reading, and I'm still not sure how large of a new tire I can put on my new ride with 17" stock rims without a lift kit (I have a lease...for now). :pullinghair:

I realize there's the JK thread and a number of smaller threads that seem to quickly go down the path of "I lifted the truck and put way bigger aftermarket wheels on and huge tires" so I'm still confused, and don't want to chunk big money at this or have an Uh-oh moment. So pretty please park the flamethrowers.

I'd like a decent look without rubbing the fenders or suspension bits. 17" Rims will help with softer ride both on the pavement and at low pressure on the dunes.

I think I've narrowed it down to:

275/70 R17's (32.2 x 10.8)

295/70 17 (33 x 11.4)

285/75 17 (33.8 x 11.2)

Do straight 33's work, if so, how wide to go on those stock rims?
The tallest shown on the discounttire.com site is 275/70, which is only 32.2"

Is there a similar size that is a better deal? I'm betting 33's are max w/o lift, but can someone confirm cuz I've read some fails.

Thanks for the great posts I've read, and looking forward to more.:worthy:

·
Registered
756 Posts
You may find a bit more info or responses in the JL specific forum since you don't seem to be getting much action here. Or maybe even other JL specific sites, as so far anyways this one seems to remain pretty heavily dominated by JK owners, and the older generations.

I'm one of the JK guys so don't know much about the JL, but at the least I think any size tire that fits a JK should also fit a JL. 33" is tallest on a stock JK, and going wider than stock like 285s or up requires wheels spacers (which are no big deal to install and not terribly expensive).