Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused: Ok everyone, after a ton of time spent researching different suspension and other accessories, I have come to the conclusion that there are way to many choices that I have available.LOL With that aside, I would like to hear some input on my current logic. Since I am completely new to Jeeps and offroading in general, I plan to wheel my new TJ stock with the exception of 31 10.50 bfg at's for now. My reason is that I have no idea what I nor the jeep is capable of at ths point, and adding a lift and bigger tires will only add to my confusion. Now my main question is, should i go more towards protection for the jeep like new bumpers, skid plates, winch, and accessories, then focus on the lift? My reason for asking is that I have read many posts from Dirk at DPG stating that these accessories add a considerable amount of weight to our Jeeps and that the suspension should really be tailored to your specific Jeeps needs. I really think this will be the smarter route for me in the long run, I am just looking for other seasoned veterans opinions.
Thanks for helping the NEWB.
Jeremy

·
Registered
1,344 Posts
for being new to the jeeping world, you've really got the idea. wheel the hell out of your stock tj. it's extremely capable as it is. learn what it and you can do and as your driving skill increases, your trails will get harder and that's where you'll learn exactly what YOU need from your jeep. that being said, bumpers with d-rings will help with recovery in the event you get stuck. and skid plates are a good investment as well at any stage of off-roading.

·
Jack Lives Here!!!
7,760 Posts