Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
My sincerest apologies if this has been mulled over here on many threads already, I've just got the jitters from a bad experience and I'm hoping for a lil reassurance.. Here's what happened:

Bought the 2007 JK 2 door 5 speed with 70k miles a couple of months ago (I'm a salesman and purchased it through auction so I wasn't able to have the mechanics crawl all over it first, but I bought it for wholesale values.. It's a give and take), just checked in for my first oil change... They found:

Front main seal was leaking

Upper intake gasket leaking antifreeze

:shocked:

Obviously I had the boys fix those issues and go over the thing with a fine tooth comb. This got me to thinking though, this is the first year of that new body style... :facepalm:

So, without further jabbering, here's my question:

Does anyone have a list compiled of known first year problems in this new JK Wrangler body style? Frankly I was surprised to see a gasket leaking at only 70k miles... Anything else I should be appraised of?

(don't sugar coat it, lemme know whassup... And please don't torture me just cause I'm a salesman and 90% of us are complete rat bastichss? Thanks)

·
Registered
2,638 Posts
The first year had leak issues with the soft top but the engine has been around in the minivans .mabey you just got one with maintence

·
Premium Member
12,478 Posts
Any Jeep can have leak issues, hard top or soft. There are also issues with the manuals sometimes jumping outta gear. And the headlights suck, but that's not really a surprise, and is easily rectified.

Wait till somebody like kjeeper10 weighs in...he can tell you about any problems with the '07's.

I'm just giving you hope here, as the responses so far have been lackluster, at best. :D

·
Super Moderator
53,784 Posts
I bought my 07 used.

Edit--as mentioned by KB :D