Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Jeepers!
I'm planning to attend the EJS on Moab, probably just the first days.
Now, my full trip starts in Calgary, Alberta. I'll be going down to Las Vegas to meet some relatives. Then I'll be going from Las Vegas to Moab, and I'll have about 3 days for that section of the trip. This is where I need your help.
What would be the most interesting way to go from Las Vegas to Moab?
Something with nice scenery (I'm a pro photographer), not very complicated trails as I'll be on my own with the wife and not very far from civilization as I'll need lodging every night.
I was thinking about the possibility of seeing some of the Grand Canyon and stuff like in the RoadRunner cartoons... Grand Staircase maybe?
I have a 2013 2D JK, hard top, standard, 3.73, a modest less-than-2in lift and 32" narrow tires. What route would you recommend?
Cheers!

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Actually, it will be from Moab to Vegas...

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Almost 150 views and not a single reply... Did I post in the wrong forum???

·
Registered
163 Posts
There are a number of ways to go... see a lot of stuff... and make it to moab and stay on paved, gravel or graded roads... some may be heavily washboarded and kind of rough riding but pretty easy driving if you take your time.

Here is a route I would recommend... i have been to these places / on these roads so I know they are good routes.

Starting in Vegas, take a drive out to Hoover Dam then drive up lakeshore drive just west of hoover dam...you will then turn on highway 167 - northshore road. Some views of lake mead... though the low water level in the lake means it is farther to the lake now. Continue up this highway to Valley of Fire State Park.