Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys I've posted a couple threads on here about my clutch issues with the 88 jeep I've been doing and it has been to no avail, and I have finally realized why. Now i am a novice jeeper, I've always worked on pickups and dump trucks and cars, even done a full resto on a classic firebird, but I've never had to deal with a clutch so with my own stupidity and lack of knowledge I have misinformed all of you and that is why nobody could give me a good answer. Now what I thought was a "cable clutch" on the new trans I got was actually an ax-5 with an external slave but the slave was gone and without seeing one before I instantly jumped to cable clutch. I'm an idiot. But regardless now I have a new trans that I converted from an ext slave to an internal slave and am having the issue with lack of any clutch. Is it non compatable to do that or am I okay?

·
Registered
958 Posts
First, I have to ask why you converted from external to internal. Because there's nothing worse than dropping a trans when your slave goes out. Second, what isn't working? Is there no pressure? I'm guessing you've bled the slave after install? Just like a brake system, it won't work if you haven't. Not trying to condescend. Just wanting to be clear after your post. Also, if you're pumping the clutch when bleeding and nothing's happening, I'm guessing your clutch master has shit the bed. Keep us posted. Good luck.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·