Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Our rear differential has developed a slow leak at the bottom. The dealer says the lip is bent from dragging across something and so it can't be fixed under warranty.

They want $472 to repair it including parts and labor, but we'd like to buy something stronger and potentially do it ourselves. I've never worked on a differential before, so a few questions:

1) What should look for in replacement covers for more toughness?
2) How hard it is it to replace a cover in the driveway with basic hand tools?
3) What additional parts are needed? I'm assuming it has a gasket of some kind.

Thanks in advance for any help or guidance.

Added - I forgot, this is for a 2017 JKUR

·
Registered
3,428 Posts
1. There will be a lot of argument about this one about what is best. The bottom line is that just about every aftermarket replacement cover is night and day better than the factory cover. Some are stronger than others but in the end, they're all better than stock. Find one you like for the money you want to spend.

2. It is trivially easy:

* Open drain plug near the bottom of the diff off to one side. Let it drain. I believe it uses a 3/8" socket drive so just a socket wrench and an extension will be all you need to get the plug out.
* Remove cover bolts. Leave one of the top ones loose for when you break the seal so the doesn't drop on you.
* Get a knife or small screwdriver in to pop the cover free. The place where it peeled back at the bottom is a good place to start. Then take the last bolt out and set the cover aside.
* Examine the inside for any chunks at the bottom (very unlikely). If you find them, you may need more repair work. Stop here and ask more advice with pictures of the gears.
* Clean out the diff with brake parts cleaner or something like that. Let it dry.
* Use a razor blade to scrape any remaining gasket goop off the surface of the differential. Do a final clean.