Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning on getting a 2.5 inch lift and was going to go for the 2.5" budget boost and TRY to install it myself. I'm not a mechanic, but I am literate and can follow instructions.

But from what i understand the 2.5" budget boost is really a 'spacer lift' in that it's just adding a spacer to the top of the shock. I guess the plus is you retain the stock ride quality?

But if i spend a little more money and get the 2.5" suspension lift i basically get longer shocks and longer springs. I guess the perk of this over the BB would be more articulation, but I'm not sure how that would affect the daily driver drive quality.

The jeep will be mall crawler for 99% of the time, so i'm inclined to get the BB, but don't want to kick myself down the road if i should have gotten the suspension lift.

guidance?

·
Registered
7 Posts
My experience was to keep reading on this forum and learn from the discussions on various threads. There are lots of options out there for Lift Kits & can get confusing especially when you're new to this as I was! That being said the Lift Kit I selected was the AEV 2.5" Sport Lift & The JK Front control arms Drop Brackets Did the work myself (I'm 58) and 10 hours over 2 days I was done Have to say I was pleased having pulled it off :) Jeep handled great & the Lift was higher in my estimation than 2.5 inches
Bottom line for me was Quality of the parts & the company support was top notch as well!

Next:
4.56 Gears
17/9 Rock Star 2 Wheels
35 inch Tires All Terrain Tires
Change the Speakers to Kickers

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Good deal! Thank you for the advice. I see from your tag you re-geared to 4.56....did you do that yourself as well. That looks a bit more complex then a lift.

·
Registered
7 Posts
The Gears I ordered from 4WS.COM out of MO.