Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, so im still new to the whole jeep thing, I picked myself up an 05 TJ, It came with a 1" body lift, and I want to put a lift kit on. I have been contenplating between zone and rough country as there both decentley priced and im still a student and dont got a whole lot of extra cash. I read that you need to drop the TC with rough country, but because I have that 1" body lift could I just get the motor mount lift instead as I dont really want to drop the case. Or should I just go with the 4.25" combo kit from zone, and not have to do that.

·
Mostly old school..!
12,149 Posts
Alright, so im still new to the whole jeep thing, I picked myself up an 05 TJ, It came with a 1" body lift, and I want to put a lift kit on. I have been contenplating between zone and rough country as there both decentley priced and im still a student and dont got a whole lot of extra cash. I read that you need to drop the TC with rough country, but because I have that 1" body lift could I just get the motor mount lift instead as I dont really want to drop the case. Or should I just go with the 4.25" combo kit from zone, and not have to do that.
The Zone 4.25 combo lift includes a 1" motormount lift and 1.25" body lift. You could definitely do that and not have to drop the transfer case, or you could probably add a motormount lift to what you have and a 2.5"-3" suspension lift, and probably get away with no tc drop as well. For the money, the Zone lift is a pretty decent lift and is complete. Congrats on your new ride.

·
Registered
316 Posts
Between the two, go zone definitely. Don't get the 4.25 kit because that's a 3" suspension lift and a 1.25" kit, and you already have a body lift. Get the 3" and a mml if you're going 3".

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·