Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Folks I don't want to put a lift kit on my jeep so I was wondering if I put 20" rims and bigger tires would I achieve another 2 inches in lift? Also what is the maximum size rims and tires you can put on a jeep? Currently I have 18" rims with P255/70R18.

PS. My 2012 jeep 4 door sahara is stock all the way and for some reason it seems to be slightly higher than half the 4 doors I come across. Only think I could think of is maybe they have 17" rims...

Yes Im a newbie to jeeps...

·
Registered
166 Posts
be prepared to get a lot of negative comments on this one.

·
Premium Member
12,478 Posts
You're not gonna be able to go much bigger on tire size with stock rims, and certainly not with 20's, without a lift of some sort. Max tire size without a lift would be about 33", which may cause some rubbing, though that won't be too much of a concern since it sounds like you're not planning on off-roading at all.

If you get some rubbing on full-lock turns, that can fixed by adding a washer to your steering stops, most likely.

Tires are what give a Jeep ground clearance; beyond a certain point, you have to add a lift to be able to fit larger tires under the Jeep.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cut the new guy some slack! Of course I plan on off roading and have been several times already Black Bear, Cinnamon Pass corkscrew and California Gulch . Ok ok maybe its not about lift for me I just want better tires for off roading on 18's as I might have to reuse my stock 18 rims.

I figured the 20's would stir things up. After looking at some pictures it looks a little funny so I deserve that one *WHACK*

What about Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ or MTZ Radial tires LT305/60 or 70R18