Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all im new to the jeep world. I just bought a '90 yj for hunting/recreational use and i am looking for a real lift. my jeep has some pretty nasty looking(almost homemade) shackles on it and i want them off. 31'' or 32" tires are enough for me so waht lift do yall recommend? i was looking at the superlift 1.5" kit..any opinions?

·
Registered
283 Posts
Welcome to the Forum!

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
alright yall ive decided to go with the 3.5" kit instead because it is only about 75-100 dollars more....would yall go with a 32x11.5 or with the max of 33x12.5?

·
Administrator
12,602 Posts
33x12's.

·
Administrator
12,602 Posts
What gear and engine/tranny do you have now? I would see how you like it then decide if you need to spend the $$$ on it.

·
Administrator
12,602 Posts
You might be okay. I had 3.73's in my TJ with the 6 and 5spd did okay.. I am not sure I think you might have higher gears ( lower number) , drive it and see what you think. 4.11's would work well with the 33's.

·
Registered
64 Posts
If your axles still have the stock gears in them, look at the diff cover and see if there is a small metal tag on the bolts. If there is it will have your gear ratio on it.

You said that this vehicle is for hunting/recreation use and not a daily driver.
What type of terrain will you be hunting and recreating in?
Big rocks, deep sand, mud or just dirt roads?
This is a big factor in deciding if you need to lower your gears. (I had 3.07 stock)
I was running 4.56 with my 33's. That was perfect for rockcrawling in California and Arizona. It was also my daily driver. For sand and mud you might want something higher like 4.11. If you are going to change the gears you might as well install a locker. (You may need to replace a carrier anyway to get taller gears in that D30)
The height of your lift is to provide clearance for your tires.