Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all.
I am upgrading from a 2001 TJ (love it with 165,000 miles) to a 2010 Wrangler Sport 2 door tomorrow. I'm not a mechanic and looking for advice on a 4" lift so I can throw 35's under it. I have a Rough Country under the TJ and it lives up to it's name until I lowered the tire pressure and upgraded the shocks to Rancho 9000's.

Here's my questions
1. Good reasonably priced lift?
2. If I go with 4" on a JK do I need to change drive shafts? Do I need a 4" for 35's.
3. It's a 6 speed, will it push 35's ok?
4. Can I put 35's on the stock aluminum rims?
5. This death wobble issue is a concern, is it prevalent on the 2010's?

I'm trying to get a good stance on it with nice tires.

Thank you in advance

·
Registered
2,086 Posts
If you go with a 4 inch lift, eventually you will need to replace the front shaft. I've read on this forum, a well as other forums, that some people replace the front shaft as soon as they install the lift, while others wait until the drive shaft fails. You do not need a 4 inch lift to run 35s on a jk. A 2 inch lift, with the proper wheels will also work.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm wanting to keep my stock wheels. So a 2" lift will allow me to run 35's? Budget lift work? Will I need to change stock shocks with only a 2"?

·
Registered
298 Posts
If you just want looks 2" with fender flares will work. Most 4" lifts are really 3.5". I haven't had to replace my front drive shaft and have 70k since lifting. 4 Drs tend to need the fronts changed. If you wheel it, go 3.5" and you'll be fine with 35's. As for your wheels? No dice. Factory back spacing won't allow it with the lifts.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #5