Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wanting to beef up my axles a little and add lockers.

I am pretty new to all of this so all advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have a 2011 JKU Sport w/ manual trans. I've been told that there are a couple of things you NEED if you plan on off roading...which i do. (that's what Jeeps are for, right?)

I have the winch, tires (315/70/17), 2.5" Lift....

Okay, so I have been told that LOCKERS make the world of difference. So I want some. I don't want to put too much money into my stock axles because one day i'd like to swap them out. I have the D30 in the front and D44 rear.

I've been looking at Spartan Lockers. The price is VERY appealing. but i do have some questions:

Is there a preference on which axle to do first?

Do I NEED to upgrade to Chromoly axle shafts when I put the lockers on? What will this benefit?

Is there anything else that you recommend for a NEED for off-roading?

I am not ashamed to admit I know very little about this stuff, but I gotta start somewhere.......

·
Registered
1,808 Posts
I would say you don't NEED any of that.
C gussets and sleeves on your front axle would be higher priority with 35's.
For the rest it really depends on what type of wheeling you plan on doing, lockers are nice and will definitely make many obstacles easier but they are far from necessary for anything but extreme articulation scenarios with tires off the ground.
As for axle shafts they generally aren't needed with 35's, stock shafts usually hold up fine. Of you plan on upgrading in the future (especially the front) then I would avoid spending money now by just doing sleeves and gussets

·
Vendor
6,285 Posts
^^^ That!

Get comfortable with what your rig can do now. Once your skill level or trail selection outgrows your rig, then look at upgrades.

EDIT: Don't forget to upgrade the ball joints too.

·
Registered
40 Posts