Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I understand the concept of them locking the differential, i am just wondering how you engage them, and what you need to be in gear wise, and when you should release them. Any info appreciated! Please, feel free to talk to me like a 5 year old (I mean that, I have no knowledge of them)

·
The Bad Guy
23,233 Posts
How you engage them depends upon the type. Usually some type of switch will be involved if they are selectable. The gear you are in for your transmission has nothing to do with your differentials. Ideally you would be off road in a low gear and low speed.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I am looking for a JK, used to have a TJ. I am not getting a Rubi, nothing against Rubicon owners but I like to work on my wrangler, I don't like stock flair. So no, I will not be buying one with lockers. And yes, I did say to be basic, no worries friend...

·
Registered
9,914 Posts
:whistling: Thats interesting that you think a Rubicon is "non-workable"

I am looking for a JK, used to have a TJ. I am not getting a Rubi, nothing against Rubicon owners but I like to work on my wrangler, I don't like stock flair. So no, I will not be buying one with lockers. And yes, I did say to be basic, no worries friend...
I've been working on my Rubi, for over three years and I like stock flair, I don't think I've modified my Rubi steering wheel yet !

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Like I said, no disrespect, I just want one that is basic, and I can add the mods I need. Please don't take offense... And you have to admit, there are a lot of jeeps out there that are pavement only and just for show.

·
Premium Member
607 Posts