Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm a newbie. Started posting 2 weeks ago. Wife and son had me talked into a JKU. My daughter and I went a drove one Saturday. (daughter and I previously only wanted JK). I thought we were all settled on a JKU. But daughter insists that in her opinion she wants a 2 door.

Now before folks comment that dad ought to just get what he wants...my daughter just finished battling recurrent cancer... So I really want to get something that she and I can pal around in.

This car will just be my toy to go to some land we have and drive around town. Probably will never see significant off roading, at least not compared to what real enthusiasts put there jeeps through.

So, I started looking on cars.com and essentially I find several 06's with less than 45k miles for $18k. All have clean carfax's.

So how do I determine if they are a decent enough car. I've got plenty of cash to customize them...but I don't know anything about engines etc.

Can you take them to a dealer to get inspected?

Advice please.

Thanks

·
Registered
216 Posts
Look for any leaks rust etc. which are all pretty easy to spot. I highly suggest you bring it to your local mechanic. I brought all 4 of the ones I looked at seriously to my mechanic and it prevented me from wasting my money 3 times. He drove it he banged it with a wrench and did his thing as I let him be. He gave me a full blown report and I could make my decision from there. Every person I asked if I could take it to a mechanic had no problem with me doing so. Handed me the keys as said "Let me know when you're done."

That is just my two cents.

·
Registered
201 Posts