Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I am new to jeeps. My 15 year old corolla is just not doing it for me. I want a Jeep to mostly go to work but to dip into the off road arena. I have a 6 year old and the thought of taking the family camping sounds awesome.

Looking at the sport S and it looks nice except the tires are meh. I would like it a bit higher but price is close to 40k

The Sahara is suppose to be a good commuter with some off road and comes in around 49k.

Rubicon seems to have all the things you would want. Looks nice stock with those tires. Do not like the decal color but simple to remove that (yes yes, some may think that's nuts) but around 57k.

Some thoughts on which way to go?

What are some prices you have all been seeing out the door? Missed the employee pricing but end of june is a monday/tuesday which is also end of Q2. Maybe could get some deal?

Thanks!

·
Registered
408 Posts
If you can get 10% off the sticker on a Wrangler, you've done well. There isn't much wiggle room between dealer cost and MSRP. I would think that it would depend on the area you live and how much inventory there is.

Go with the Sport S. You can find brand new take off wheels online, like your local Craigslist or Facebook Market, or at local 4x4 shops. Many people take perfectly good Rubicon wheels of the first day they buy the Jeep. Find a local shop to put a 1" spacer lift in and mount the Rubicon wheels. You just saved $15k dollars to get the look you want.

You could also get the spacer lift and just buy new tires for your factory wheels or new wheels and tires, then sell yours. A Rubicon has tires that are 33" tall (285/70/17), so that's what will to get the look you want.