Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, as you can see, I am a newbie here. I have been reading/researching a bit on here for a little while and finally started my first post here as I am now seriously looking to get into a TJ's scene.

I was looking at an all stock 2000 Sport with automatic that has only 33K original miles on it. However, when I slid under the vehicle to check, the amount of rust is quite substantial, in my opinion (see pictures below.) Is this normal for road salt areas like New England? Also, I know the current owners use it for casual plowing and does that contribute to leaks on transmission, rear main seal, as well as some shocks at such low mileage even if they're not that aggressive?

The body has minimal rust, engine itself has no leaks and other than a "lag" when stepped on gas pedal hard at around 20'ish mph, and I was debating whether it's worth the asking price (close to $8K.)

Any feedback is appreciated, whether it's worth the price, it will be a nightmare, or it's a so-so scenario.

Transmission and front left shocks:

Left front brakes and shocks:

Rear main seal, axle, shocks...

Right front brakes, shocks:

Leakings in various places

Gas tank skid plate?

Right front upper suspension component

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
That looks really fishy for 33k miles. My 1995 YJ with 58k (bought with 42k two years ago) doesn't have nearly that amount of rust. I know that there was no preventative measures taken with the previous owner to prevent rust either. I also live in northeast ohio, where the roads are heavily salted.

I say keep moving along. That's going to be a lot of headache when something breaks, or if you mod your Jeep. So to answer your question, that looks pretty abnormal to me.

·
Rock-Rubber
16,971 Posts
Pardon me buy holy **** that is ugly. NO.