Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I have a '17 JK and I'm looking for a steel lock box to hide/protect a mobile ham radio head in the top center dash cubby. I've looked all over and have only found plastic, non-lockable, rolling door storage consoles that just won't cut it. The units dimensions are 7.25" × 3.25" × 1". I have a feeling I may have to just fabricate this. Also, if you think this is a bad idea, please tell me your thoughts.

I may also be installing a cb sometime soon but might just put that low in the dash beneath the hazard switch pod or get a handheld cb and clip it to the dash. Decisions, decisions!

Thanks for any help!

I'm a new member to the forums, new to Wrangler ownership and I'm just getting started in Overlanding. Also, I wasn't sure if I should post this here or in the fabrication thread. Apologies if this is the wrong place for this type of discussion.

·
Registered
3,511 Posts
What radio do you have? Most of the ones with remote heads, the heads snap in and out of the mounting plate easily. When you park, pop it out and put it in a lock box or take it with you. The mounting is very non descriptive, won't attract any attention.

·
Registered
47 Posts
I might be worried about heat, too, in such an enclosure.

I vote for taking the face off. I share your concern. I don't have a mobile yet, but whenever I think about mounting, having it stolen is my main concern. When I get one I plan to mount the face either above the mirror or on the center dash above the radio, and to take off the faceplate when I'm leaving the Jeep out.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi guys,