Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
593 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First I wan to say that i am not looking for a $700+ winch. I dont wan to knock them as they serve their purpose, just not for me. I do not wheel heavy and nor will I ever. I may occasionally get stuck in the mud or need to pull a friend out. I am a beginner and until my jeep is paid off and I have another daily, i do not plan on wheeling hard at all. I am looking at the Badlands, Barricade, and Quadratec winch. I think I want synthetic for weight purposes. And I think i am going to put a disconnect on the battery wires just to not always have the winch hot. I do plan on using a cover for the winch as well not in use.

I have a few friends with Badlands winches, they have had them for several years now. They are the older ones with the magnet motors and they are always left out in the elements an none of them have failed yet so i figured the new wound motors in them would be better quality and should be ok. I hear the badlands and Engo's are the same exact winch. I the control box's have the older type of solenoids and people dislike those.

The barricade winches look nice, I see no exterior bolt heads on the motor or gear side so it makes me think they are sealed well from the weather. Extreme terrain website shows awesome reviews and i tired to google any info about them but i only read good reviews, no negatives. I think they use the older style solenoids too, not the new contact style.

The quadratec units look nice too, i have read a few negative reviews of them, mainly the units were not sealed and rusted up good. I aslo read about the brakes in the drum ruining the synthetic lines with heat from the drum.

What do you guys think of these winches i brought up? any insight would be appreciated. Please keep in mind "i heard from my friends brothers cousin that these suck" I would like to hear real world experiences. Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
3,629 Posts