Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all im gonna act like a complete noob here. lol but i feel that the only stupid question is the one not asked.

so i have a 2002 TJ with an existing 4" Rancho lift and 33" Mickey's. i want to go bigger on the tires around 37's, 38's. can i do that with a 3" BL. also what kind of gearing change am i looking at?and any additional changes. im open to all suggestions. I love off-roading and trail riding. and even some rock crawling.

thanks y'all

·
Registered
7,667 Posts
37s or 38s are gonna take a lot of work and a lot of money to do it right. 37-38s will need new axles, new gearing, new steering, new brakes. If you are gonna go through the hassle of running tires that size, you might as well build a rig that functions well. A 3" BL won't gain you anything other than clearance. Body lifts of that size create more problems than anything. A 1" body lift is normally an acceptable amount. What reasons are u wanting to go to tires that size? Is the terrain you are running requiring it?

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
there really isn't a direct reason. i've just always wanted a big jeep. the more i sit here and think about it i can see that 35's might be the better option. all the extras you mentioned are more than i was xpecting. i knew about the gearing and steering. we'll see im just getting info for now. im currently deployed and been saving up some money for when i get home. thanks for the insight. maybe i can up with something less serious.

·
Registered
3,197 Posts