Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I was having some wheel wobble on the passenger side, rear wheel of my new-to-me 2012 4Dr JKU Rubicon and when I noticed it, I assumed it was probably just a warped tire or warped wheel. It literally has brand new Fuel Battle Axe Aluminum wheels and brand new 285/70-17 Hankook Dynapro MT tires on it that the dealer put on to sell it less than 500 highway miles ago, which already had me fearing a warped Dana 44 axle shaft in the back of my mind as worst case scenario, but God forbid I said that out loud! Sure enough, upon further inspection (Always start with the simplest fix first! In my case: tire - wheel - axle) after pulling the wheel off and making sure it was in-fact round and balanced, I could clearly see that the rotor and caliper were NOT spinning true. It was WAY out. As a Machinist by trade, I was about to get a dial indicator out and check the runout anyway but after spinning the rotor assembly by hand I was able to see that there was no need for further inspection and that it was out by at LEAST 3/16” to a 1/4” on rotation (calibrated eyeballs of course). That translated into a VERY noticeable wobble with my 285/70-17 bolted to it. So much so that a random fellow Jeeper in a TJ was driving behind me down my street and when I pulled in to my driveway he was courteous enough to stop and tell me that it looked like my right rear wheels was about to come off!!! (He said he thought that the lug nuts were loose). This also explains the break squeak that I would hear at half rotations when coming to a stop, I thought I just needed new pads... Oddly enough, I never felt any vibrations, even on 2 hour interstate driving at various speeds... however - I am new to the Jeep crowd and this is my first Wrangler that I’ve ever driven, so as a disclaimer; I cannot say that there wasn’t any vibrations occurring because I’ve obviously never felt a stock ride in this thing yet an