Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone.

I'm new to Jeeps, so go easy on me. I come from the world of building and racing superbikes, sports cars, and pickups to haul them.

I recently bought an 07 unlimited and the steering seems awful loose. The jeep drives great, but there just seems to be a lot of play in the steering wheel. Same with the gearbox (but that may be the longer shifter making me feel that way)???

I'd appreciate any insight y'all have for me. Thanks in advance.

-Darren

·
Registered
929 Posts
Check to see if you have stock steering stabilizer and what tires do you have? and Axle?
I am having the same problem and I narrowed it down to the steering stabilizer because I went to 35's and a Dana 44 up front

·
Registered
6,299 Posts
Rod ends wear out. Steering boxes wear out. With an older, high mileage vehicle, you are going to have to replace these parts.

the drag link has 2 rod ends, the tie rod has 2 rod ends, your balljoints may be worn, your steering box may have play (but that is the least likely).

Start replacing parts with quality aftermarket stuff, I use Moog everything in my superduty, JK's have a lot more options.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I just replaced ball joints, so it's not them.

It has the Sahara setup on it now, but I'm installing a 2.5 inch lift this week and 35 on 17s...

I'd rather not throw money at it and hope it sticks. A little better idea of what might be going on would definitely help. I know how to tear down, diagnose, and build bikes..... Jeeps, not so much, lol

·
Registered
69 Posts