Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm new to the Jeep world and I just got a 10 JK a week ago. I have found that when going up hills the JK can barely hold speed. I have a manual trans and I was in 4th going up a hill at 45. next thing I know I'm down to to 40. I hit the gas and nothing. Mind you these are not massive mountains more like rolling hills of Michigan. I feel like in Colorado I'd be heading backward!

Going to 3rd would work but isnt that too high rpm? Its also been about 20 years since I had a stick so I'm really a babe in the woods here.

The question is it normal for the JK to lose steam like that up a hill and is dropping into 3 at 45+ a bad thing?

Thanks for any help from the experts!

·
Registered
483 Posts
Lift, tires, etc or stock.

·
Registered
153 Posts
yep, i got a 09 manuel and let me tell you it is not the fastest, but is the most badass, I live in colorado and going up the pass and in mountains i feel like im not moving. I can barley get up the pass at 40 in 3rd gear haha people pass me left and right but i dont care i have a jeep!

·
Premium Member
7,097 Posts
if you're losing speed, you're in the wrong gear. doesn't matter if it's a moped or ferrari
This. If you are chugging the motor you are...

1) In the wrong gear
2) Putting tons of stress on the motor
3) Putting tons of stress on the driveline (clutch)
4) Wasting a HEAP of gas

Downshift and use higher RPMs. If you are in the upper rev range and STILL barely gain speed, you need to re-gear (unlikely.)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks everyone for the help. Make feel better that nothing is wrong. It is what it is and that fine by me. I can live with being slow. Not sure if I can live without Jeep!

·
Registered
3,540 Posts
Power band is related to RPM is related to road speed is related to incline/decline of roadway.