Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m a newbie. While driving in 4H, I see there is a striking difference with what goes on with the tires as I make turns in this mode. Is this normal and if so, can anyone offer advice on easing into these turns without fear of fishtailing?

·
Registered
2,317 Posts
The Wrangler has PART TIME four wheel drive. When you engage the transfer case, your front and rear axles are locked together. When you make a turn, your front and rear wheels have to travel at different speeds... But since you've locked the axles together, the front and rear axles wind up fighting each other.

Part time 4WD is only for slippery surfaces like snow, ice, mud, or sand. That binding-up you feel when making sharp turns on non-slippery surfaces while in 4WD can cause drive train damage.

·
Registered
926 Posts
When turning in 4WD, it is necessary for at least one tire to slide on the surface. Like others have said, running in 4WD on dry pavement can have catastrophic consequences. Since you will only be using 4WD on slippery or loose surfaces, you shouldn’t be taking turns fast enough that fishtailing would be an issue. To further reduce strain on the drivetrain, only turn as sharply as necessary. In other words, make your turns as wide as possible to reduce the amount of slippage necessary at the tires.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6,698 Posts
Happens on slippery pavement while turning with 4H in gear. ☹

It'll happen ANY time... and it is normal.