Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to order a Jeep today (first one). I have been sure I want to get a manual transmission. I have had a few sports cars and prefer the control of the manual transmission. I assume the same would go for the Jeep, but it seems as though most Jeeps are sold as automatics. Just wanted to check with the folks here (since I am new to Jeeps) to see if there is a reason beyond personal preference to choose manual vs automatic. Your feedback is appreciated.

·
The Bad Guy
23,245 Posts
Strictly personal preference.

·
Registered
8,554 Posts
From another thread:

MTH said:
No matter how many times this comes up and no matter how many times we hear about it being a "personal preference" or "up to you" or that you should just "test drive both," I am certain--CERTAIN I TELL YOU--that someday, SOMEHOW, we're going to get to the bottom of it.

There's going to be a thread here one day that affirmatively, definitively, and unequivocally settles ONCE AND FOR ALL whether an auto or a manual is the "best" choice.

The answer is still out there, let us all continue the quest . . . . :rofl:
:D

·
Registered
7 Posts
I thought I wanted a manual until I drove the new JK...The 6 speed manual doesnt shift well to me, it feels like a big work truck with long throws. I went with the auto and am very happy I did....

But its a jeep, not a sports car and its not gonna shift like one...so definately personal preference, thats why they make both.....

·
Registered
2,321 Posts
I thought I wanted a manual until I drove the new JK...The 6 speed manual doesnt shift well to me, it feels like a big work truck with long throws. I went with the auto and am very happy I did....

But its a jeep, not a sports car and its not gonna shift like one...so definately personal preference, thats why they make both.....