Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone.

Just registered here, so first off: My name's Shane, and hello :)

So, I've got a 2006 Rubicon that needs some work, and I have a few questions for you guys.

The work I need done is:

- One of my front sway bars is broken, needs to be replaced
- Combo switch is broken, keeps my fog lights on all the time, needs to be replaced
- Passenger door weather strip is split, so part of it pinches out when you close the door and makes it hard to open, needs to be replaced
- Because the door is so hard to open, the exterior door handle has popped out a little at the bottom from so much yanking.

I'm not very experienced with working on cars, so I took it to the mechanic to get some quotes. As I expected, they came back pretty high: $215 to replace the front sway bars (they said they want to replace them both so they don't have different wear); $399 to replace both the weather strip and the door handle (I don't even know if the handle needs to be replaced, it may just have to be bent back in); and $300 to replace the combo switch.

So my question is: Are any of those things simple enough where I'd be better off just doing it myself? I've got tools, and I'm pretty confident in my ability to figure these things out, with whatever proper guidance I could find on the internet. I've found some nice write-ups on how to fix the door handle (which is actually how I found this forum).

Any help or suggestions anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
291 Posts
to be honest thats all decently easy stuff to do. just get some guidance, good instructions and basic tools and your set. It took me 10 minutes to replace my sway bar. It'll be a great learning experience to just jump in and do it yourself. Get a friend and have fun.

·
Registered
3 Posts