Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
I am pretty sure that if your wheels stick outside of the fenders it is not legal. However, idk whether or not you will get stopped for it.

·
Registered
506 Posts
Right now I am running 33x12.50's on some mickey classic 2's and they stick out past my stock tj sport flares. I've never been pulled over for them, I've even driven right past sitting cops at stop signs and nothing. (If I had to guess, mine stick out probably a good 2-3 inches)

·
Grampie
783 Posts
Here is a link to the Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL). # 257 deals with vehicles. I could not find any reference to fender requirements, but, I am not a lawyer. I got this link by asking my local city police what the law is on driving lights and they referred my to the link. I suggest asking your local police dept if they can tell you what the law is.

Here is the link: Michigan Legislature - Home

·
Registered
277 Posts
Driving lights are not regulated by state laws. The are regulated by FMVSS108. FMVSS108 references many SAE regulation (but not always the latest spec). So, the only lighting requirement being modified are the side marker and side reflex lamps. These lamps do not have requirements in regard to the width of the vehicle. However, the do have to have a clear line-of-sight 45* towards the rear of the vehicle. Although there wont be any cops that are savvy enough to know, you would be able to fight it if you were armed with the lighting regulations. I happen to know a lighting Engineer that could help you produce the regulations for a court trial ;). There is also a height requirement but it only for a minimum height. So, it would only be an issue if you drop your jeep.

·
Grampie
783 Posts
J33P4X4 said: